Dino Sight Word Match-Up


It’s been quite some time since I’ve been able to post.  While being a coordinator I wasn’t creating much.  As I transitioned to teaching again, I didn’t have time to make creative things.  Well, I’ve finally found some time to create again so I’m ready to post!  This is SO exciting for me!

This game is called Dino Sight Word Match-Up.  I wrote all 40 pre-primer sight words (but it could be any sight words) on the “jungle” board that I made out of poster board.  Then I took 40 plastic dinosaurs (bought them in the dollar section at Target, 20 dinos for $1) and wrote one sight word on each.  I created a recording sheet for the student to use during the game too.

How to play:  The student who is playing the game matches a dino to it’s correct location in the “jungle.”  Then they record (write) their matches on the recording sheet.  This helps students to work on reading AND writing their sight words.  I use it as a “station” while rotating between writers at different levels.

Here are some pictures of the game and a .pdf of the recording sheet!  Enjoy!  🙂

image3image2image1

dino sight word match up  <—-Click here for the .Pdf!

Tell me what you think!